Administrative districts in Poland during partitionings

German Partition
– East Prussia/Ostpreussen/Prusy Wschodnie
– West Prussia/Westpreussen/Prusy Zachodnie
– Pomerania/Pommern/Pomorze
– Brandenburg
– Posen/Grand Duchy of Posen/Wielkie Księstwo Poznańskie
– Silesia/Schlesien/Śląsk

• Austrian Partition
– Kingdom of Galicia/Galizien/Galicja
– Bukovina/Bukovyna/Bukowina
– Austrian Silesia/Osterreichisch Schlesien/Czeski Śląsk/Czech Silesia

Russian Partition
– Gubernia warszawska (Warszawa)
– Gubernia kaliska (Kalisz)
– Gubernia kielecka (Kielce)
– Gubernia łomżyńska (Łomża)
– Gubernia lubelska (Lublin)
– Gubernia piotrkowska (Piotrków Trybunalski)
– Gubernia płocka (Płock)
– Gubernia radomska (Radom)
– Gubernia siedlecka (Siedlce)
– Gubernia suwalska (Suwałki)

If you are looking for a professional help of lawyers in Poland in finding your ancestors and related documents for any purpose, whether it is a private search or an inheritance proceedings, please contact our law firm here.


MFLegal - an office of polish lawyer provides advice on all legal issues, domestic and international for business or private activity.

Experienced in consulting individual and corporate clients in Poland, we focus on finding based on trust, innovative and high quality solutions. Don't hesitate and write to us! We kindly will supply you any needed information.



Karola Marcinkowskiego 1/2, 85-056 Bydgoszcz


(+48) 50-81-37-606